18 Books Your Preschooler Must Have

These books have been my constant companions and I have read them to my children hundreds of times. Some are the worst for wear, but they feel like some of my oldest, dearest friends. My top three are pictured at the top. Richard Scarry’s Best Storybook Ever is simply referred to as the Big Yellow Book at our house, then I recommend The Cat in the Hat Beginner Book Dictionary, and then another that we refer to by it’s color, the Big Blue Book, which contains six essential tales, including Go, Dog, Go, which you cannot do without. I have three nursery rhyme books here, and I don’t think you can have too many. There may be others that are better, but we have loved these. What did I leave out? I’d love to hear you weigh in on your favorites!

IMG_1525

IMG_1524

IMG_1510

IMG_1533

IMG_1532

IMG_1531

IMG_1530

IMG_1529

IMG_1528

IMG_1527

IMG_1526

IMG_1523

IMG_1522

IMG_1521

IMG_1520

IMG_1519

IMG_1512

The Diggingest Dog

Busy, Busy Town - Richard Scarry

Dr. Dolittle and the Pirates

IMG_1518

IMG_1511

IMG_1509

IMG_1508

IMG_1507

IMG_1501

IMG_1502

IMG_1504

About tisawhite

I'm a mother of 4 children. I stay at home and I'm Catholic.
This entry was posted in parenting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 18 Books Your Preschooler Must Have

  1. mvkq3 says:

    I love this! Proud to say I have a few of these. It looks like I’ll need to add some more Dr. Seuss. As for my suggestion, I love the entire Arthur series by Marc Brown. They are great for season and holidays and for all around lessons on childhood. Even if you happen to be an Aardvark. 🙂

  2. tisawhite says:

    We love Arthur, too! We have a nice little collection of those, and Berenstain Bears, as well.

  3. Nerissa says:

    I think you need to add Guess How Much I Love You and If You Give A Pig A Pancake. I loved The Foot Book by Dr. Seuss, too. I do so miss reading to and reading with little ones! Wish someone in my family would have some more kids! : )

  4. Dinah Lovett says:

    I nominate “I Love You Forever”

Leave a Reply

